21
Mar
08

“I believe in God, only I spell it Nature.”

“I believe in God,  only I spell it Nature.”

- Frank Lloyd Wright

arsl02_quotes1.jpg

Wright’s “Auldbrass” in South Carolina

4 Responses to ““I believe in God, only I spell it Nature.””


  1. March 28, 2008 at 10:24 am

    oh, the biggest “starchitect” of them all: Mr. Wright! i visited the first house he designed (his own) on a rainy day in a suburb of chicago – it was cold and my son was nagging but we both left the house elated…along with Mies van der Rohe, F.L. Wright has been one of my favorite architects and responsible for my later appreciation of this art. koolhaas, herzog and de meuron, zaha hadid, johnson and the great louis khan all came afterwards to me.

    Architects are somehow divine in their own right – they imagine, create and build great things. Wright is right to call God and Nature intermittently…

  2. 2 Nimesh Dadia
    March 28, 2008 at 6:01 pm

    I love the roof and the Door of this place. I guess its an entrance to a stable or a store house.

    I had seen a Documentary called My Son, The Architect by Louis Kahn son. It was a beautiful docu, with some incisive interviews with other contemporary architects. In all his works it was very evident that he strives for building a MONUMENT which is more like he is trying to communicate with GOD.

  3. 3 z
    May 12, 2008 at 4:21 am

    it’s a good quete but not original…
    Spinoza is the source.
    it’s not surprising because like in his works he reveals as master in copying… from nature to form & material. not to be mistaken, he does it like no other and I truely value his legacy.
    in reference, Einstein said : “I believe in Spinoza’s God who reveals himself in the orderly harmony of what exists, not in a God who concerns himself with fates and actions of human beings”


Leave a Reply

Life is a lot like Jazz - It's best when you improvise

What you may wish to read ..

"If you gaze long into an abyss, the abyss will gaze into you." - Nietzche
Buy art

Photo

www.flickr.com
My Mindspace's God's Own Country photosetMy Mindspace's God's Own Country photoset

Inspiring Flickr Photos

More Photos

Blog Stats

  • 109,498 Visits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

